Putting myself out there

My view…..

Hello everyone!  So I’ve stumbled upon a topic that, let’s say…peeves me.  Yes, peeves would be a good description.  To get angry

Ho hum…it looks like it’s gonna be one of those kind of blogs

about it would only make me miserable and that would totally take away the whole good karma thing I have going for me and toss it out the window.  *sigh*

Okay so onto the peeved part.  I’m a reader…….a huge reader.  I devour books in one sitting if I can.  I’ve always taken my trusty Nook and scrolled through the Barnes and Noble store bookmarking as I go….lets face it, I would need to hit the lottery in order to have all the books I want to read at my fingertips 🙂  Anyways…..so I’ve never been one for reading what other fellow readers have to say about the book.  I don’t want to be swayed by what their thought are.  I read the blurb and make my decision based off of that.  I feel it’s only fair to form my own opinion on what I’m reading.

However……..lately I’ve started reading the comments. While some are helpful and totally on target, I can’t help but shake my head in annoyance at others.  Case in point:  Why would I care if you didn’t have the time to read the book you are reviewing/commenting on?  If you didn’t have the time to read the book – why would you feel the need to leave any sort of feedback?  That only makes you look like an ass.

It makes me wonder if people such as those really read the book or if they skimmed through it so that they would have something to say.  Annnnnd if they are doing that, don’t they realize that they are critiquing on an un-fair level?  Unfair to the next reader, who may in fact buy books based off of what others “rate” it at, and unfair to the Author that slaved over it?

I would take serious offense to reading a review such as that if I were the Author looking for feedback on how my book was doing.  Especially if I was a newer Author.  I can understand not being able to get into a book….I’ve had numerous books that I had a hard time wrapping my head around.  Does it make it a “bad” read? No, it just wasnt’ something that I could follow.  Ahhhh, to each their on when it comes to what we think is a good book versus a bad one.

I’ve even read comments that were made that the book was good, but the writer should have done such and such.  And because it didn’t give them everything in the first book of a series, they may not read the next book.  WHAT!?!?  The whole point of a series is that there is one major issue that gets wrapped up all nice and neat at the end of the last book.  Each book has its own problem and solution, that’s what us writers do…..we give you the beginning, middle and end. (bang head here!)

Here’s what I think:  Let the writer be the writer and the reader be the reader.  And  if the reader is a writer, good…then you know how much work goes into the book and or books.  If you’re a reviewer, give the book a fair shot based on the story line, characters, flow, etc.  Make sure you have the time to devote to the book and the writer so that they get a fair appraisal of their work, not one based upon what you thought they should have done.

Sorry, told you I was peeved :/  Ok, I’m getting off my soapbox now.  If you stayed with me up until this point, thank you for letting me vent my frustration out.  I do feel a little better now that I have that off my chest.  To those of you who are Authors – my hats off to you for having to deal with comments I’ve listed above.  All I can say is stay true to who you are as a writer and know that us readers don’t always base a book off of what others say, we form our own opinion 🙂

So tell me, what are your thoughts on this?  Do you see comments and or reviews where you just shake your head at the commenter and think….wow, you just totally contradicted yourself and I’ll believe what you said when pigs fly….lol.  Sorry, couldn’t help myself.

Happy Friday everyone!

 

 

21 thoughts on “My view…..”

  1. All of my book reviews seem quite high, I mark out out five and I have never given anyone less than a 3.5, I believe every book has good in it, but if I really didn’t enjoy a book I wouldn’t be able to finish it. If I couldn’t finish it wouldn’t review it as I haven’t seen the work as a whole.
    It annoys me when people write reviews and can’t think of something nice to say. For instance Stephen King is one of my favourite authors but I find his books really hard to get into. Once I’m there though I know I’m in for a great read.
    People should discuss the strengths of the books just as much as the weaknesses.

  2. I usually skim through comments, clutching salt between my thumb and forefinger. Unless ALLL comments are bad, I’ll still give the book a chance.

    When the time finally comes for my work to appear on Amazon, I may not read any comments at all. Many Celebrities avoid articles written about them, don’t they? There are enough doomsayers in this world for an author to contend with – why add to the worries?
    You only have to read the comments that follow an MSN article on such-and-such to know that there are a great many trolodytes out there who are only interested in spouting off their own ill-considered views.
    If that means missing out on the occasional good comment, I’ll take that chance, or ask my significant other to extract any useful feedback for me.
    Ok, Sonya, here’s your soapbox back…

    1. Yeah, you’re right. It just blew my mind on some of the comments that I read and I thought…hey, wait a minute! I guess you can’t stop someone else’s verbal diarrhea and the best thing to do is ignore the haters and enjoy the fans! Thanks Andrew 🙂

  3. Sonya, I am doing a little dance for you right now. You are right on many levels. As an author I believe the merit of the review speaks for itself. The hardest ones to swallow are the ones where the reviewer says what you thought when you wrote the book. I’m not going to get into it because it’s not professional for me to, but let’s say I don’t always agree 😉

  4. It’s hard, isn’t it…sitting on the other side of the screen reading all those thoughts and keeping it professional. I almost didn’t put the post up because…well I’m sure you know why. But the thought just wouldn’t leave me alone until I did. I wanted to feel justified and stand up for what I believe in ~ to give a voice to those who won’t or can’t. There are a lot of great authors out there just starting out, sometimes they put their first books up for free just to grab an audience. I read those books 🙂 and by the end I’m ready to pay for their second book. With each book written an author gets stronger with their story telling, stronger with their voice. I admire them for having the courage to put their heart, soul and mind out there for all to see. As for me…..? I’m gonna stick to what my mom always told me “If you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all.” After all, silence speaks louder than words 🙂 Thanks Cassandra!

    1. Everyone has an opinion. But not all opinions are worth the time to listen to or read. If the vast majority like the book, then that is the market for which the book was intended. No author has a 100% success rate in engaging every reader who reads it. The only time an author should pay attention to the reviews of his or her book, is if the overwhelming majority say the same thing. Otherwise, the author just needs to develop a little thicker skin and realize that onenor two people’s opinions aren’t worth losing sleep over if the other 500, say that the book is good.

    2. I appreciated you giving a voice to some of my inner feelings…sometimes they just kick around…As lame as this sounds–I really did throw my hands in the air and do a little dance when I read your post!

  5. I’m feeling a little guilty now. I left a review for a book the other night that wasn’t particularly glowing. When I looked at the other reviews given, they varied from 5 stars to 1 star, with pretty much an even spread, which goes to show that no matter what you write, there is probably a number of people out there who will enjoy it and some who will hate it (and some who won’t even read it, but will still have something negative to say about it).

    1. Awwww……I’m sorry, that wasn’t my intent. I just had gotten through reading some really catty things that made my fingers twitch to voice my opinion on how some comments just aren’t necessary. Reviews are a great way to get books out there and you are so right when you say you can’t make everyone happy. I’m fairly new to the blogging/goodreads world, so maybe it’s me that needs to develop the thicker skin…lol Thanks for the comment and for stopping by. Hope you have a great day!

  6. Amen sister. The purpose of a review should always be and always remain in one focus: a synopsis of what the book is about and if the reviewer is of importance, a quick opinion on whether it’s readable or not. However, every opinion is so distinctly personal. Plus most authors dont give two whoots if you agree with their writing style or not.
    I’m currently in the middle of reading fiction for dummies, and it says over and over again, authors will never appeal to every reader. For every reader that dislikes the book there is another who adores it.
    AH the world is balanced once again.

    Great rant and post. Maybe you should review books on your blog…

    Leah

    1. Hey Leah! Thanks for stopping in. I agree, you really can’t make every reader fall in love with what you’ve written. I guess the best thing you can hope for is that you have your faithful fans and that in itself is priceless 🙂
      Reviewing…..hmmmm, might be something to that. I’ll have to think about that one…lol
      Thanks for stopping by and thanks for the comment!
      ~Sonya

  7. There’s no rhyme or reason to some folks when it comes to book reviews. Now that anyone can achieve their fifteen minutes of fame with the click of a mouse, are we really better off for so many voices? But I suppose these are the same folks who talk loudly in grocery stores just to be heard, so as I tune them out, I tune out reviews that aren’t offered in the best spirit. Plenty of hoo haa out there, just a matter of weeding through the din. 🙂

  8. The comment that someone doesn’t have the time to read the book is all about the person commenting and not the book itself – this would peeve me as well!

    I rarely do book reviews (just don’t have the time) but when I do I go through the entire book with a fine tooth comb – I think I do this because of my ‘day job’ which involves a lot of proof reading and editing 🙂 I always focus on the positives of the book. Being an author I totally understand the amount of work that goes into writing and I really dislike the ‘ratings’ system and try to avoid it at all costs – I don’t believe I am an expert in the reviewing field and therefore am in no position to numerically rate another authors work.

    Great post! 😀

    1. Thanks Dianne 🙂 You know the craziest part of the rating epidemic (lol) is, that’s the process you have to go through in order to get your book out there and seen by the e-crowd :/ it’s one of those darned if you do, darned if you don’t things. Wasn’t that the worst comment ever? I wanted to slap the commentor virtually with my Nook…lol
      Thanks for the comment and thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

