Sonya Loveday

Let me build you a world you can fall into.

Blog Hop! The Next Big Thing: Casted

on February 25, 2013

Hello All!

So I finally got the reader back on my home screen *dance of joy* it only took me 2 hours of banging on keys to get there…Seriously I looked like a monkey trying to fly a shoe. My tongue was stuck out and everything…….Yes, it was that ugly :/ Ok, stupid analogy but my brain is fried after numerous bouts of:

un-click this – delete that- oh wait maybe if I….nope, ok well let’s try this……crap, ok lets see……OH look the little circle is still spinning UGH! – Maybe this will work…nope. *insert bad language* – let me just un-click this and see….

HALLELUJAH!!!!!!  it worked, it really…really, I’m a frickin’ genious….bahahahaha it worked! Let me go back and check it…..just in case…noooooooooooo! Yup you guessed it – right back to the spinning circle of nothingness *sigh*

You would think that after all those dramatics I’d have a great explanation as to what I did to make it work. The big revelation is that I changed it to https….REALLY? Yes, it was that simple.

Anyways……..now that you’ve seen just how computer savvy (har har) I am…..now on to the real reason for this blog:

Candace Knoebel has nominated me for The Next Big Thing! Candace has a lot of cool stuff happening right now. First and foremost, she will be revealing the cover for Embracing the Flames – the second book in her Born in Flames trilogy!  Secondly, she is holding a giveaway on her Facebook page when she reaches 1,000 likes. Check out her page if you haven’t done so – tell her I sent you 🙂 And thirdly, Candace is getting close to wrapping up her third and final book of the installment and will be sending it on to her publisher very soon. Way to go Candace!

And without further ado……..

What is the working title of your next book?

I’m currently working on a new project, I’ve been rolling a lot of titles around in my head and have come up with Casted – will it stay that? I don’t know, right now it just feels right. Who knows it could change the closer I get to finishing the book.

Where did the idea for your book come from?

From my head of course 🙂 Honestly, this book started taking shape about 4 years ago when I had numerous story lines running around in my head. I started spilling all the extra stuff out in word documents so that I wouldn’t lose a story while another one was taking precedence. Sometimes you have to do that in order to stay focused. I’m glad I did because it’s really shaping up nicely now that the beginning was already there 🙂

What genre does your book fall under?

This definitely won’t fall under YA since there is one Character that likes to use a handful of non-YA words 😉 I guess you could either say Paranormal Fantasy or maybe Urban Fantasy since it deals with magic and spells and witches ….oh my!

Who would play your characters in a film?

Woooah there….getting a little ahead yourself much? I mean who wouldn’t want their book to become a movie? Sadly, only a handful make it and kudos to them who do! I on the other hand will live in the reality that will never come to pass – but if Ian Sommerhalder wanted to step in and take on Edge’s role…..just sayin’ 😉

What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

“I’ve been running all my life from the unknown, I will run no more and face those who seek to destroy me.” ~Jade

Will your next book be self published or represented by an agent?

I will be walking the path of the Indie 🙂

How long did it take to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I’m still writing it. I’m pushing to have the first draft complete within the next month and then begin the grueling editing process 🙂

What other books would you compare this story to in the genre?

I wish I could give you a really good answer for this but the truth is….I don’t have an answer. I love to read. I find myself reading way more than writing – which is a big downfall for me. There are some really great authors out there that may have similar styles or settings. But, I believe, every book written shouldn’t be compared to others because the two are never the same 🙂

What inspired you to write this book?

I’d finished Fates Awakening and sent it off for review to a publisher who requested it. Once it was reviewed and I had a chance to fix the issues the publisher found with it – I realized that it just wasn’t enough. There are a lot of things I need to do to fix it and make it readable. It’s ok now but I want it to be better than ok. So I began tweaking and fixing and cutting and rewriting. All that led to the fact that I needed more – things have to change and I was forcing it to fit – you can’t do that and make it a good read. So, I stepped away and went back to Casted. I want fresh eyes and a clear head when I tackle Fates Awakening again, cause I know it has lots of potential. Casted is inspiring me to continue doing what I love…to write!

What else about the book might pique the readers interest?

Dagger and Edge….Can’t wait to see what the readers think of them!

That’s it for me. I’ll be keeping everyone posted as the story continues to flow out of my head and down to the keys. Until then I’d like to nominate not one, but two fellow Authors who in my opinion have very promising writing careers ahead of them. Hope on over and check out Cassandra Giovanni and Andrew Toynbee. While your at it, check out their Facebook pages too!

And as my good friend Andrew says:

Write on!

5 responses to “Blog Hop! The Next Big Thing: Casted

  1. Candace Knoebel says:

    🙂

  2. OMG… :O Thank you, thank you! *clutches NBT nom to chest and weeps openly before being dragged away by security*

Leave a Reply

